Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 800-752-0042
Phone: 252-203-0066
Shapiro, Appleton & Duffan, P.C.

North Carolina Hit-and-Run leaves 21-year-old in Critical Condition

Comments (0)

What Happened:

According to a report by WCNC, a young woman is in critical condition after a hit-and-run accident on I-485 earlier this week. The accident happened near the Providence Road exit.

The North Carolina Highway Patrol has said that a 21-year-old female driver passed an SUV in the right lane and attempted to get back in the left lane when the SUV clipped her car from behind and spun her off the road. Troopers said the SUV did not stop and continued down I-485 toward Pineville. The SUV is described as a light gray or silver with possible damage to the front right side.

The victim in the accident has suffered multiple broken bones, internal injuries and two collapsed lungs. Troopers have said that witnesses report the driver of the SUV may have had road rage issues prior to striking the young driver’s car.

The North Carolina Injury Lawyer’s Perspective:

After crashing into another car, the decision to bolt from the scene is not only heartless, it’s also against the law. Now, the driver responsible for the crash is likely to be convicted of criminal charges in addition to the civil penalties he could face.

In North Carolina, hit and run accidents are governed by North Carolina Statutes § 20-166. The law states:

Duty to stop in event of accident or collision; furnishing information or assistance to injured person, etc.; persons assisting exempt from civil liability.

(a) The driver of any vehicle who knows or reasonably should know:

(1) That the vehicle which he is operating is involved in an accident or collision; and

(2) That the accident or collision has resulted in injury or death to any person; shall immediately stop his vehicle at the scene of the accident or collision. He shall remain at the scene of the accident until a law-enforcement officer completes his investigation of the accident or collision or authorizes him to leave; Provided, however, that he may leave to call for a law-enforcement officer or for medical assistance or medical treatment as set forth in (b), but must return to the accident scene within a reasonable period of time. A willful violation of this subsection shall be punished as a Class H felony.

The victim, or her loved ones, should consider speaking with a North Carolina personal injury lawyer to weigh their legal options. Just because the at-fault driver is facing criminal charges does not preclude the victim or his loved ones from seeking restitution through a civil claim.

Helpful Info:

Our firm published an in-depth legal guide on what to do if you or a loved one was seriously injured in a car crash. Read it here.

Have Questions?

FAQs on the personal injury claim process in North Carolina.


View Larger Map

CA

Richard N. Shapiro
North Carolina Personal Injury & Wrongful Death Lawyer Rated as a Best Lawyer for Injury Law
Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Avvo The Best lawyers in America Super lawyers Best Law Firms US News Verdicts and Settlements AV LexisNexis

Live Chat